AID Scholars Class:
Virtual Magic Wand® Program

Training, inspiring, and connecting the next generation of dermatology innovators

Scholars | Curriculum | People

The 2019 AID Scholars Class participated in the Virtual Magic Wand Program. The Program is an offshoot of the Magic Wand™ Initiative started at Massachusetts General Hospital (MGH) Dermatology to empower clinical faculty to engage in problem-driven research. Through a competitive application process seventeen applicants were offered, and accepted, enrollment into the AID Scholars Program.

2019 AID Scholars

Shirin Bajaj, MD
Dermatology Resident
New York University

Rob Bobotsis, MD
Dermatology Resident
University of Toronto

Garrett Coman, MD
Dermatology Resident
University of Utah

Tim Durso, MD
Dermatology Resident
San Antonio Uniformed Services Health Education Consortium

Sara Hogan, MD, MHS, FAAD
Cosmetic & Laser Surgery Fellow
SkinCare Physicians

InYoung Kim, MD, PhD
Dermatology Resident
Case Western University

Ming Lee, MD
Dermatology Resident
Boston University

Xiaoxiao Li, MD, PhD
Dermatology Resident
University of Pittsburgh Medical Center

Jigar Patel, MD
Chief Dermatology Resident
Duke University

Aditi Sharma, MD
Dermatology Resident
University of California Irvine

Divya Sharma, MD
Dermatology Resident
Brown University

Kumar Sukhdeo, MD, PhD
Chief Medical Officer

Usama Syed, MD
Dermatology Resident
Mount Sinai Hospital

Olivia Twu, MD, PhD
Chief Dermatology Resident
University of California San Francisco

Raj Varma, MD
Assistant Professor of Dermatology
University of North Carolina

Reid Waldman, MD
Dermatology Resident
University of Connecticut


  • Class I: Introduction to “The Magic Wand®”
  • Workshop I: Identifying Problems Worth Solving
  • Workshop II & III: Brainstorming Sessions
  • Workshop IV: Identifying Key Stakeholders
  • Workshop V: Beyond the Clinical Considerations
  • Class II: Lessons Learned from Experts
  • Class III: Effective Presentation Skills
  • Workshop VI: Problems Worth Solving
  • Class IV: Bridging the Clinical/Technical Divide


Program Committee

Previous Years

2017 | 2018
Skip to content